A couple of weeks ago my dear friend Vin sent me a link to her own blog saying that it was a surprise for me. I opened it curious, and after reading I was like a child waiting for Christmas: I needed my present immediately! The idea seemed sooo cool!

UPDATE: Not only Vin talks about it in her blog, also The Fitzroy Flasher mentions it and Katie Jayne too in her blog. It’s all around! Who’ll be next?

Let me explain it: Vin found out about Chris and she decided that the ring should come to Spain. Ok, it doesn’t make any sense at all. Let’s start from the beginning then.

One day Chris Massey was bored in his house (or that’s my guess!) and didn’t know what to do with some rings he just made. Chris, who is doing a BA in Fine Arts at RMIT was looking for a participatory artwork, integrating it with his jewelry and ceramics practise. And he did it. How? He created 40 unique rings and gave them to friends and strangers with just one condition: they couldn’t keep the ring, they had to give them away and tell Chris where were those rings going. Cool huh? You can check more information in his facebook group: A Giving Ring.

Another day my beloved and talented Vin Knight found out about Chris’ rings. That night she had a really vivid dream with me in it. So days after she went to the Rose Market in Melbourne and she got to get one of the rings. She decided that the ring had to come with me to Spain.

A third day in this story I received the package.

240
a present from Australia

And what was inside? Of course the ring, which turned out to be way more beautiful than I expected. Made with sterling and ceramics is one of those rings that makes you feel unique, different, gorgeous. Problem? It’s so precious that I’m afraid of breaking it. It’s way too special for me! But on the other hand, such a beautiful ring should be seen around.

243
a giving ring

Vin liked the idea of “passing happiness” so much that she decided to start her own “passing” thingy. Along with the ring I received two little envelopes with the instruction that one was for me and the other one should be for someone else. God! It took me hours to decide which one I kept! Finally my mum picked up one and it was the end of the deliberation. I already wrote in this blog about Vin’s amazing art, but again, I love it. Every series that she does keeps surprising me, it’s so Vin but different from all her work at the same time! Her use of colours, textures, her love for different papers and colour lawyering. I need to frame it!

(to read more about her and to see some of her awesome creations, don’t forget to go to her blog: http://vincenteknight.wordpress.com/ )

242
a giving postcard

That envelop definitely made my day yesterday! Isn’t the ring awesome? Maybe for me it’s all the history that has behind. But I can’t help smiling when I look at it.

I have already decided where the other little postcard is going. But so far that’s a secret. Eventually you’ll all know.

241
ring in Spain
